Home Sweet Home…

Standard

Not really sure what it is about today that has me missing home. I grew up in sunny California– Thousand Oaks to be exact. A traffic-filled 30 minutes from Los Angeles. Ahhhh, LA. Where the weather is perpetually sun shiny and everyone you meet is currently working on a screenplay. Southern California really is a lovely place. Truly. I wish I could take a trip home right now.

562992_10100305971243276_807272034_n

Home Sweet Home… ❤

What I miss the most- apart from the mild weather- are the museums and libraries. Man oh man. There are so many art related things to see and soak up. I think since I saw Star Trek: Into Darkness, The J. Paul Getty Museum has been on my brain since it served as the Starfleet Academy in the film.

263378_10151695064545097_212711231_n

The Getty is a museum that feels like a second home to me. It used to be “MY” place– the place where I went when I felt low, happy, stressed, worried, inspired… pretty much enter any emotion here. So, because of this soft spot in my heart, I thought I would talk about The Getty Museum a little bit. OK? OK!

800px-Aerial_Getty_Museum

The J. Paul Getty Museum was originally located in Pacific Palisades (near Malibu and the ocean) but was moved to its current location on the high tops of Brentwood after a rather large inheritance was  given to the museum in 1982. Originally, the “museum” was in J Paul Getty’s home and a museum wing was added in 1954. After the museum moved to Brentwood, the old location off of Pacific Coast Highway was closed and has since been renovated and turned into The Getty Villa, which houses a pretty remarkable collection of art from Ancient Greece and Rome. The Getty Villa is also a pretty great place and definitely deserves its very own post as it is shrouded in controversy, which is always a little sexy.

DSCF1723a

The main museum, now called The Getty Center is home to some of the most beautiful Western art from the Middle Ages to the present– more specifically, pre-20th-century European paintings, drawings, illuminated manuscripts, sculpture, and decorative arts; and 19th- and 20th-century American and European photographs. As someone that has always had a fondness for religious art, it is no wonder that I always found myself on the mechanized tram up the mountain to the Getty Center’s marble steps. Oh yeah– it is quiet an experience just getting TO the museum. You are completely transported from the noise and smog of the city below… you board the tram in the darkness of the parking facility, and exit the tram 900 feet (270 m) above the city. So high that you can even see the the San Bernardino and San Gabriel Mountains in the east and the Pacific Ocean  miles and miles to the west.

images

5092036825_6ab81b9108_z

101

Things that shouldn’t be missed you ask:

th

Irises by Vincent Van Gogh (1889)

Arii_Matamoe_(The_Royal_End)_Paul_Gauguin

Arii Matamoe (The Royal End) by Paul Gauguin (1892)

Jacopo da Pontormo, Portrait of a Halberdier, 1528-1530, Oil on canvas, ml0001

Portrait of a Halberdier by Pontormo (1528–1530)

Rigaud_Louis_XIV_1701

A copy of Portrait of Louis XIV, which measures 114 x 62-5/8 inches, by the workshop of Hyacinthe Rigaud (after 1701).

… and other COUNTLESS pieces…

Beyond the art, the Getty Center also showcases some truly unreal architecture and gardens.

800px-Getty_01

If you have never gone to The Getty Center, you must put it on your list of things to do and see. It is a beautiful museum with a BEAUTIFUL collection of art. I really miss being just a short car ride away from this magnificent place.

2 responses »

  1. The Getty is one of my favorite places! And don’t you love the old one on PCH in Malibu, too? It was an escape for me when I went to Pepperdine and lived there. I’d run away for the day and just get lost….

    Didn’t know you were a SoCal girl. I am, too — Huntington Beach.

    Thanks for reminding me to set aside an “art day” soon….. 🙂

    • Ooo! Pepperdine! Yeah, that’s right by (ok.. maybe 20 mins, haha) where I grew up! How fun! 🙂 And Huntington Beach? I love it over there. I hope that I get a chance to take a trip home soon. Chicago’s crummy weather leaves much to be desired, haha.

      Yes, I LOVE The Getty Villa too. It is so dang beautiful– especially on a clear day. Wow!

      Glad I could help set into motion an “art day” for you! 🙂 Those are THE best days, aren’t they? Take care! 🙂

Leave a Reply

